Wish You Were Here

It’s probably not a huge surprise that I’ve been spending a lot of time in my own mind these past few weeks. As I think I’ve probably mentioned, being officially done school (woohoo – I can’t believe I’m done my MBA, crazy) and not having a full-time job right now has left me with a lot of time to spare. Though I admit that it’s not been without its share of ups and downs (as my friends can attest to with emails of frustration followed by Instagram posts of having the most amazing time), the time has actually been nice. After all, when else in life will I really have this much time of “freedom” (yes, I know, you’re probably hating me right now… but seriously, it hasn’t been without stress).

As part of ย this freedom, I spent some time today writing postcards and letters to friends in other parts of the world. It got me to thinking about the concept of postcards. When I was younger, any time any of my friends would leave on vacation, the first part of their vacay preps included getting everyone’s mailing address so they could send postcards. The message of these postcards was never anything thought-provoking or substantial, just the typical “Having so much fun, wish you were here”. Nonetheless, it was so exciting to open your mailbox and have a postcard waiting for you from someone in another part of the world. As the years passed, the number of postcards received (and sent) became less and less, hand written letters became even more obscure and checking the mail became more of a chore than an excitement. These days, my mailbox basically serves as a tool for receiving either bills, flyers or wedding invitations. And, although I find this quite sad, I guess I can’t be too disappointed – I’m also guilty of just sending a text, IM or email the majority of the time.

As a result, this month I’m making a vow… to send at least one postcard/letter a day. I’m not sure how long I’ll be able to keep at it, but I’m going to at least try.

So what would I write if this were a postcard instead of a blog post?

Dear Friend,

How are you? I’m having a really great day – I went shopping, to an intense BodyPump class, then to khane and then dinner with my cousins at a popular diner. Paris has this obsession with American-style diners it seems… you can find one pretty much anywhere. It’s super hot here right now, and AC seems to be non-existent except for at the mall or SOME stores. Anyway, I’m having a really great time and hope to talk soon. Miss you lots!

Wish you were here! ๐Ÿ™‚

Gros Bisous,

Me

Andddd that’s all for now folks!

4 thoughts on “Wish You Were Here

  1. Um…I hope that one postcard a day is for ME every single day since you still have a whole booklet left to fill out! ๐Ÿ˜› Great idea though….stick to it!

Leave a comment